NSW Regional Media Awards

Winners of the NSW Regional Media Awards 2015

The winners of the 2015 NSW Regional Media Awards were announced this evening at a cocktail presentation event in Newcastle. The awards, proudly supported by the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance (MEAA), the union and industry advocate for Australia’s journalists, are the pre-eminent awards recognising and promoting journalistic excellence in print, broadcast and digital media platforms across regional New South Wales.

This year’s NSW Regional Media Awards attracted more than 100 entries with the judging panel impressed with the high standard of submissions across a broad range of topics. “Overall, the standard of content from the nominees was extremely impressive and served to remind us that there are extremely talented, committed reporters breaking new ground and honing their craft in regional NSW,” they said.

Nigel McNay of The Border Mail was named the 2015 NSW Regional Journalist of the Year. The judges said: “Nigel McNay's words captivated and engaged us. The breadth and depth of the stories that comprised Nigel's entry was impressive. His articles featured vastly different styles of reporting on very different subjects - from an as-it-happened style of reporting of an inquiry into the deaths of two firefighters, to a touching and sensitive account of the inseparable lives of a local couple. The common denominator across all his articles was the beautiful and sometimes, moving, wording that encouraged the reader to read to the very last word of every article.”

McNay also took out the Tom Barrass Memorial Award for Regional Journalism for his body of work : “Calm before the storm”.                

The award for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism went to Greg Ray of The Newcastle Herald. “For many years, he has been the voice of the Herald. When writing editorials he always strove to find a voice that stood out from the pack. No slavish kowtowing, no lazy acceptance of the commonly held view. But always something the editor could safely stand beside and own. The highlights were times when he knew he had been some person's last chance to have their voice heard, and when he knew he had not let them down.”

Virginia Tapp of The Courier won the PF Adams Young Journalist of the Year award. The judges said her work was “good solid reporting of challenges facing her region with the stories not only outlying problems, but outlying potential solutions also. All of Virginia’s stories are written in a very readable style, which suits both print and online.”

MEAA warmly congratulates all the award winners.

For more information, contact Anna Magnus 0423 363 725

The NSW Regional Media Awards Winners 2015


ALL MEDIA Sports Journalism            

Tim Connell, Newcastle Herald, Glory Road: from Palestine to Newcastle, an Asian Cup  journey



ALL MEDIA Broadcast Camerawork 

Kim Honan, ABC Rural, Body of Work



ALL MEDIA Commentary, Analysis, Opinion and Critique

Michelle Harris, Newcastle Herald, Election Columns


ALL MEDIA Feature/Documentary

William Verity, ABC Radio National, Voice of the voiceless


PRINT/TEXT News Report   

Matthew Kelly, Donna Page, Helen Gregory and Damon Cronshaw, Newcastle Herald, Toxic Truth


RADIO/AUDIO News and Current Affairs     

Aaron Kearney and Ashleigh McIntyre, ABC, Inside Out


PHOTOGRAPHY in News, Feature or Sport 

Adam Hourigan, The Daily Examiner, Work From The Daily Examiner


TELEVISION/AUDIO-VISUAL News and Current Affairs

Emily Laurence, ABC, GP skin cancer patients demand compensation, changes to industry regulations


ALL MEDIA Investigative Journalism              

Matthew Kelly,Donna Page, Helen Gregory and Damon Cronshaw, Newcastle Herald, Toxic Truth


The Tom Barrass Memorial Award for Regional Journalism 

Nigel McNay, The Border Mail, Body of Work: Calm before the Storm


The PF Adams Young Journalist of the Year

Virginia Tapp, The Courier, Drugs, drought and regional development


Outstanding Contribution to Journalism

Greg Ray , Newcastle Herald


The 2015 NSW Regional Journalist of the Year

Nigel McNay, The Border Mail